Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statements and News
How to Borrow Books from the MLS Professional Collection:
Click on one of our featured titles below, or search entire the MLS Professional Collection via our online catalog. You can then request items to be sent to your library through delivery. View this guide for detailed instructions.
Fair Use (Section 107)
Fair Use Checklist
Developed by Kenneth D. Crews (Columbia University) and Dwayne K. Buttler (University of Louisville). Helps you evaluate and document each of the four factors of fair use for a given project.
Reclaiming Fair Use by (on order for MLS Professional Collection) Reclaiming Fair Use challenges the view that digital culture is incompatible with core copyright values. Beginning with an overview of the contemporary copyright landscape, Patricia Aufderheide and Peter Jaszi show how creators can rely on fair-use rights to make new work employing a range of information technologies. They draw on deep experience helping documentary filmmakers, English teachers, librarians, visual arts professionals, and nonfiction authors, among others, to develop their own codes of fair-use best practices. This second edition charts the burgeoning of fair use in law and practice since the book's original publication in 2011. It tracks the Twitter hashtag #WTFU (where's the fair use?), the maturing of the transformative use standard in legal disputes, and controversies about topics such as remix art and mass digitization. It provides new research authoritatively documenting changes in both attitude and practice among communities with fair-use codes. This research contributes to the growing international debate on copyright exceptions and their cultural and economic effects. With its no-nonsense advice and practical examples, Reclaiming Fair Use remains essential reading for anyone interested in intellectual property law, creative communities, the economics of copyright, and new media. Book jacket.
Publication Date: 2018-04-27
Copyright Exceptions for Libraries (Section 108 and 109)
Educational Resources for Patrons
Intro to Copyright
Copyright Questions and Answers for Information Professionals by (on order for MLS Professional Collection) Copyright law is a critical issue for authors, librarians, publishers, and information vendors. It is also a complex area, with many shades of gray. Librarians continually need to seek answers to questions ranging from the reproduction of copyrighted works for library users, through the performance of audiovisual works, to the digitization and display of protected works on library websites. This book presents updated versions of the author's copyright columns published in Against the Grain, the leading journal in acquisitions librarianship since the late 1990s. It is the first volume in the series Charleston Insights in Library, Archival, and Information Sciences. The aim of the Charleston Insights series is to focus on important topics in library and information science, presenting the issues in a relatively jargon-free way that is accessible to all types of information professionals, including librarians, publishers, and vendors, and this goal shapes the pragmatic and accessible tone of the book.The volume is presented in question-and-answer format. The questions are real, submitted by librarians, educators, and other information professionals who have attended the author's copyright law workshops and presentations or submitted them to her by e-mail or telephone. The author has selected the questions and answers that have general applicability. She has then arranged them into logical chapters, each prefaced by a short introduction to the topic. Because it is written in an accessible and clear style, readers may want to review the entire work or they can just access particular chapters or even specific questions as they need them. The volume includes an index to facilitate reference use.
Publication Date: 2013-02-15
Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators by (4th edition due out in fall 2019; on order for MLS Professional Collection) Copyright in the world of digital information is changing at a fevered pace, even as educators and librarians digitize, upload, download, draw on databases, and incorporate materials into Web-based instruction. It's essential to stay abreast of the basics of copyright law and fair use. Crews has completely revised his classic text to remap the territory with fresh, timely insights into applications of copyright law for librarians, educators, and academics. Readers will - Learn basic copyright definitions and key exceptions for education and library services - Find information quickly with "key points" sidebars, legislative citations, and cross-references - Understand the four factors of fair use and related court interpretations - Get up to speed on current interpretations of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act from a librarian-educator viewpoint Copyright Law for Educators and Librarians-highly praised in previous editions-draws on cutting-edge case law in 18 discrete areas of copyright, including specialized and controversial music and sound recording issues. Information professionals will find the tools they need to take control of their rights and responsibilities as copyright owners and users in this succinct, easy-to-use guide.
Call Number: 346.0482 CREWS 2012
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Copyright for Schools by An updated edition of the standard, comprehensive guide to copyright issues affecting schools, this book provides the watertight copyright policy and plan that's a must for every school district. * Sample logs, record-keeping aids, notices, policies, request letters, forms, and instructional materials * Questions and answers on representative school situations involving copyright, including hot topics like video yearbooks, wikis, and distance learning * A reproducible copyright brochure suitable for school staff * Examples of fair-use analysis * Lists of copyright-cleared media and producers * A comprehensive bibliography, including Internet links related to copyright
Call Number: 346.7304 SIMPSON 2010
Publication Date: 2010-10-14
The Public Domain by (On order for MLS Professional Collection) Find free content and save on permission fees! Millions of creative works_books, artwork, photos, songs, movies, and more_are available copyright-free in the public domain. Whether your tastes run more Jane Austen or Jane Eyre, Beethoven or Irving Berlin, Edvard Munch or Claude Monet, you_ll find inspiration in The Public Domain. The only book that helps you find and identify which creative works are protected by copyright and which are not, The Public Domain covers the rules for: writings music art photography architecture maps choreography movies video software databases collections The 8th edition is completely updated with hundreds of new online and digitized public domain resources. The book covers the latest legal developments regarding copyright and the public domain_from state copyright policies to free and low-cost legal advice for creative types to copyright issues regarding photos lacking human authorship, and much more!
Publication Date: 2017-05-29
Intellectual Property and Social Justice
MLS Webinar, presented 11/21/19
Cat Ladies, Quilters, and Creativity
A look at gendered effects of copyright law by Kara Swanson, Landslide, American Bar Association, March/April 2018
Black Lives Matter, The Brand
Article from Fast Company about the challenges of branding for the leadership of the Black Lives Matter movement (September 2016).
Copyright's Race, Gender and Age: A First Quantitative Look at Registrations
GWU Law School Public Law Research Paper by Robert Brauneis and Dotan Oliar, 2016. Looks at demographic differences among those submitting copyright registrations.
Indigenous/Traditional Knowledge & Intellectual Property
A study of the problematic relationship between traditional/indigenous knowledge and intellectual property law by Dr. Jane Anderson at the Center for the Study of the Public Domain, Duke University School of Law. 2010.
What is Indigenous cultural intellectual property and copyright and how can I respect it?
Indigenous cultural intellectual property (ICIP) is a right that Indigenous people have to protect their traditional art and culture. This author explains that ICIP covers many things, including: "Traditional knowledge, cultural practices, spiritual knowledge, ancestral material and languages."
See also Creative Commons info on "Open Content" tab of this guide.
Licensing Digital Content by (On order for MLS Professional Collection) Covering the basics of digital licensing for librarians, this third edition provides a freshened look at all the key issues as well as updated sample agreement clauses. Giving library professionals and students the understanding and the tools needed to negotiate and organise license agreements, Harris uses a plain-language approach that demystifies the process.
Publication Date: 2018-02-28
Resources and model licenses for you to review prior to negotiating with a vendor or a publisher.
Copyright Clearance Center
A for-profit company that offers collective copyright licensing to academic and corporate libraries. Somewhat controversial due to its funding of the fair use suit against GSU.