Skip to main content

Resources for New College Graduates

Designed for MLS academic member libraries to share with their new graduates. Members can adapt information to reflect their own institution.

Hello, Neighbor!

Best of luck to you as you continue your journey elsewhere in New England or in New York. The library resources on this page should help you along the way. Keep in mind that many of the resource types listed on other pages of this guide will be available in your home as well.

We hope you've enjoyed your time as a student here in Massachusetts. Come back to visit us soon!

Selected Resources in Your State

state seal of CTFind a Connecticut Library

Not sure where your local public library is located? Check here! Also includes school, academic, and special libraries. See the public library section on the Massachusetts page of this guide to learn more about resources and services that might be available at your public library.

Connecticut State Library Card

Available to all Connecticut residents, this card will allow you to borrow materials from the State Library, use their computers, and use many databases from home.

A-Z Databases

Dozens of databases, many of which are available remotely via your Connecticut State Library Card! Others are freely accessible resources, or in some cases, available on-site only at the State Library.

researchIT CT OneSearch

Search multiple databases from a special research collection (or select individual resources). Available remotely to Connecticut State Library Cardholders.

state seal of MaineFind a Maine Library

Not sure where your local library is located? Use this directory to find public, academic, special, and school libraries. See the public library section on the Massachusetts page of this guide to learn more about resources and services that might be available at your public library.

MARVEL! Maine's Virtual Library

You can access this large collection of databases, including newspapers, magazines, journals, and reference content in a wide range of subject areas, from anywhere within Maine.

Services for the Public

Looking for books? E-books? Maine history materials? Government or legal information? How about an archive of Maine poems? Find all that and more on this page from the Maine State Library!

state seal of New Hampshire

Find a New Hampshire Library

Need to find your local public library in New Hampshire? Check here! This directory also includes school, academic, and special libraries. See the public library section on the Massachusetts page of this guide to learn more about resources and services that might be available at your public library.

NHU-PAC

Looking for something that your local library doesn't have? Check this union catalog, which contains the holdings of the New Hampshire State Library, as well as more than 300 public, school, and special libraries in the state. You can request items be sent to your local public library via interlibrary loan.

NHewLINK Databases

New Hampshire residents can access newspapers, magazines, business information, health resources, and more via the state databases. Access is through your local public library. Many resources are available remotely with your public library card number.

Rhode Island coat of armsFind a Rhode Island Library!

Not sure where your closest public library is in Rhode Island? Check the Ocean State Libraries Map! See the public library section on the Massachusetts page of this guide to learn more about resources and services that might be available at your public library.

Ocean State Libraries Card Application

All Rhode Island residents are eligible for an Ocean State Libraries card to borrow public library materials and access online resources. Visit your local public library, or use this application to get a card. (Proof of residence required.)

Online Resources

Ocean State Libraries free online resources include e-books, videos, and databases covering career resources, test prep, health, business, reference, and more. They are accessible with your Ocean State Libraries card.

state seal of Vermont, Find Vermont Libraries

Not sure where to find the closest public library? Use this online tool! See the public library section on the Massachusetts page of this guide to learn more about resources and services that might be available at your public library.

Vermont Online Library

Database content includes career and job-seeking resources, newspapers and magazines, small business resources, geneology resources, e-books, educational materials, and more. Available to anyone physically located in Vermont, and to Vermont library patrons traveling outside the state via library card number or other authentication. Check your local public library website for details.

Vermont Department of Libraries

Looking for even more library resources, such as law and government publications, services for patrons with disabilities, etc? Check out the resources on this page!

great seal of New York state

Find Your Public Library

Not sure where to find the closest public library in New York? Use this online tool! See the public library section on the Massachusetts page of this guide to learn more about resources and services that might be available at your public library.

NOVELNY (New York Online Virtual Electronic Library)

Database content includes newspapers and magazines, business and health resources, educational materials, and more. Available to any New York resident using your public library card, NY driver license, or NY state ID card.

NYSL Research Library

The New York State Library research collection is accessible to all state residents. It collections strengths are medicine, science, social science, technology, education, history (particularly American and New York State), and government documents.

Loading ...