LibGuides: Intellectual Freedom Guide for Massachusetts Libraries: Home

Spotlight on IF News

ALA releases 2023 book challenge numbers:

American Library Association reports record number of unique book titles challenged in 2023

In the Guide

How to Respond to a Challenge

MLA IF/SRC Collection Challenges Guide for Public Libraries
Guidelines for public libraries preparing and responding to challenges, as well as helpful resources for reporting and support. Updated in February 2023.
MSLA Collection Challenges Guide for School Libraries
Tips and resources for school libraries to prepare and respond to challenges. Updated in February 2023.

Intellectual Freedom: Fighting the Good Fight Webinar
Presented by Martin Garnar (June 7, 2022)
How to Respond to Challenges and Concerns about Library Resources (ALA)
Includes guidance how to respond to informal complaints and expressions of concern
Challenge Support (ALA)
Includes personal support available during a reconsideration process and Guiding Documents to Safeguard Intellectual Freedom and Prepare your Library, School or College Against Censorship
Challenge Reporting (ALA)
"Reporting censorship and challenges to materials, resources, and services is vital to developing the best resources to defend library resources and to protect against challenges before they happen."
Office for Intellectual Freedom (ALA)
Provides confidential support to anyone undergoing a material or service challenge and free consulting services to help you prepare for censorship and implement vital intellectual freedom best practices within your library or school
A Tip Sheet for Librarians Facing Harassment (PEN America)
"This guidance is intended to equip librarians with strategies to navigate online abuse."
Challenge Response Checklist (ARSL)
Checklist for libraries to start thinking about challenge procedures, from the Association for Rural & Small Libraries (ARSL) Advocacy Committee.
Trauma, Book Bans, and Libraries: A Resource Guide for Library Workers, Library Supporters, and Beyond (Book Riot)
Kelly Jensen writes about trauma and the toll censorship takes on public library workers, citing the research of Urban Librarians Unite. A list of resources appears at the end.
Create a Book Resume to Help Respond to a Challenge
This School Library Journal article outlines how to create a "book resume" with professional reviews, awards, booklists, and news stories, to respond to a challenge.
Unite Against Book Bans Book Resume Database
Before you reinvent the wheel and write your own book resume, search across thousands of book resumes in this Unite Against Book Bans database.
De-escalation: A Crucial Tool in Libraries for Promoting Intellectual Freedom
Short post from the Illinois Library Assocation about using de-escalation techniques in materials challenges, including an explanation of the LOWLINE model of de-escalation.

* Massachusetts library workers can reach out to the Massachusetts Library Associations Intellectual Freedom & Social Responsibilities Committee, Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners, and Massachusetts Library System for support.

Report a Challenge

Challenge Reporting (ALA)
Report a challenge to the ALA Office of Intellectual Freedom.

Contact the Massachusetts Library Association

Email the MLA Intellectual Freedom and Social Responsibility Committee at ifsrc@masslib.org to report a challenge in your library.

Book Challenge Tracker (MSLA)
Submit this form to help compile data about book challenges in MA school libraries.
Report a Book Ban (Pen America)
Select the "Report a Book Ban" link or scroll down to report to PEN America.
Report a Threat (EveryLibrary)
EveryLibrary helps libraries fight threats by offering monetary support through a Rapid Response Fund, providing a petition platform, and making their database of library supporters available. Report a threat to libraries on their page or email info@everylibrary.org.
Report Censorship (CBLDF)
The Comic Book Legal Defense Fund provides a form to "to report censorship or request assistance defending against censorship," plus many more library and educator tools.
Report a Censorship Incident Form (NCTE)
The National Council of Teachers of English provides a place to report a censorship incident and "welcome[s] reports from anyone who is aware of current censorship incidents in schools and school libraries."
Report Censorship (NCAC)
The National Coalition Against Censorship (NCAC) provides a private and confidential place to report censorship: "NCAC staff will be in contact if we are able to provide assistance or support."

School Libraries

More Licensed School Library Teachers, Less Book Banning (MBLC Fact Sheet)
MBLC information sheet with talking points and linked resources about school library teachers, intellectual freedom, and book bans.
Intellectual Freedom: Meeting the Challenge (MSLA)
Includes guidelines for school librarians in Massachusetts to take before a challenge and steps to follow to respond to a challenge
Book Challenge Tracker (MSLA)
Submit this form to help compile data about book challenges in MA school libraries. Please submit a separate form for each book challenged. This data will be used to inform advocacy efforts in the state.
Reconsideration of Instructional Resources (Massachusetts Association of School Committees)
"In accordance with the statement of philosophy, no questioned materials shall be removed from the school pending a final decision..."
Public Complaints (Massachusetts Association of School Committees)
Includes the proper administrative channels for solution
Resources for School Library Professionals for Action and Safety During Challenging Times
Crowdsourced resources curated by school library professionals is not a product of AASL
Position Statement on Book Review Sources and Rating Systems
The South Carolina Association of School Librarians (SCASL) supports the position
that librarians utilize reputable, professional review sources to evaluate materials under
consideration for the school library collection.

Essential Resources

Intellectual Freedom Issues and Resources (American Library Association)
Learn about the First Amendment and Censorship; Access to Library Resources and Services; Filters and Filtering; Academic Freedom; Meeting Rooms, Exhibit Spaces, and Programs; Schools and Minor's Rights
Library Bill of Rights (ALA)
"The American Library Association affirms that all libraries are forums for information and ideas, and that the following basic policies should guide their services."
Freedom to Read Foundation
"FTRF protects and defends the First Amendment to the Constitution and supports the right of libraries to collect - and individuals to access - information."
PEN America - Book Bans
Research, FAQs, tip sheets, and a reporting form on book bans from PEN America.
A Censorship Language Primer (Book Riot)
A quick guide to defining censorship, soft censorship, book bans, etc.

Collection Development & Reconsideration Policies

Make sure to regularly update your collection development and reconsideration policies.

Sample Collection Development Policies
Massachusetts Library System Policy Collection
Sample Reconsideration Policies and Forms
Massachusetts Library System Policy Collection
Policy for selection and use of library materials and facilities
Mass General Laws: Chapter 78 (Section 33)
Selection & Reconsideration Policy Toolkit for Public, School, & Academic Libraries (ALA)
Includes basic components of a selection policy and reconsideration procedure
Library Resources (Massachusetts Association of School Committees)
Criteria for selection of library resources; privacy of circulation records; and weeding of library materials
Instructional Materials (Massachusetts Association of School Committees)
Criteria for selecting instructional materials for programs

Laws Related to Intellectual Freedom

Policy for selection and use of library materials and facilities
Mass General Laws: Part 1, Title XII, Chapter 78, Section 33
Confidentiality of Library Information
Massachusetts General Laws: Part 1, Title XII; Chapter 78, section 7
Library employment is a defense against matter harmful to minors
Massachusetts General Laws: Part 4, Title 1, Title 272
Definitions of statutory terms; statutory construction
Massachusetts General Laws: Part 1, Title 1, Chapter 4, Section 7
Massachusetts law about obscenity and pornography
Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries
Citizens Guide to U.S. Federal Laws on Obscenity
U.S. Department of Justice
Hate Speech Law in Massachusetts
Blog post written by Gary Smith of the Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries.
Hate Crime Law in Massachusetts
Blog post written by Gary Smith of the Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries.

First Amendment Audits

MBLC Information for Trustees on First Amendment Audits
MBLC's Trustees LibGuide page on First Amendment Audits contains recorded trainings and other resources.

First Amendment Audit Checklist
A guide to know what to do before, during, and after a First Amendment Audit in your library.

Webinar recording: First Amendment Audits for Public Libraries: Prepare and Respond
Recording of the webinar MBLC hosted with KP Law on Dec 12, 2023.
First Amendment Audits: What Your Library Board and Staff Need to Know
United for Libraries (May 11, 2022)
Prepare for a First Amendment Audit
This 2-page resource from the Colorado Library Consortium has helpful tips and talking points to handle a visit from a First Amendment auditor.

Media Interactions

The Do's and Don'ts of Media Interactions (MBLC)
Common Bridging Statements (MBLC)
Crisis Communications (MBLC)
Crisis Communications Documents (MBLC)
View and download MBLC fact sheets about intellectual freedom in public and school libraries, sample statements about book and program challenges and meeting room use, and sample scripts for staff.

For Library Trustees

Trustees: Collection Development and Intellectual Freedom
Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners
Intellectual Freedom Resources for Trustees, Friends, and Foundations
United for Libraries: Includes webinars, resource guides, tip sheets, and sample policies
Terms and Definitions Related to Intellectual Freedom & Censorship
United for Libraries (2/15/22)
Materials Challenges: Key Library Policies to Review and Revise
United for Libraries (2/15/2022)

Books

Intellectual Freedom e-books
Available through Library e-books and audiobooks (LEA)

Intellectual Freedom Manual by Trina Magi (Editor); Martin Garnar (Editor)
ISBN: 9780838948187
Publication Date: 2021-01-04
Foundations of Intellectual Freedom by Emily J. M. Knox
ISBN: 9780838937839
Publication Date: 2022-11-07
Controversial Books in K-12 Classrooms and Libraries by Randy Bobbitt
ISBN: 9781793607874
Publication Date: 2019-10-04
Intellectual Freedom Stories from a Shifting Landscape by Valerie Nye (Editor)
ISBN: 9780838947265
Publication Date: 2020-03-25

Request materials from the Massachusetts Library System's Professional Collection

Trainings

ALA Webinar Series on Intellectual Freedom: Recordings
Recordings of the ALA Webinar series on intellectual freedom hosted by MLS in Feb-Mar 2023. Recordings will be available for 18 months.
Essentials of Intellectual Freedom (Deborah Caldwell-Stone)
Part of the ALA Essentials for Library Workers Training Suite. Complete the form to access the training.
Facing the Challenge: Intellectual Freedom in Libraries (ALA)
On-Demand Webinar (March 2022)
Office for Intellectual Freedom (ALA)
YouTube channel
Protecting Patron Data: What Librarians Can Do
Blog post by Jeremy Goldstein (April 21, 2022) includes considerations when purchasing services from a vendor

Get involved and Fight Censorship!

Consider local and national opportunities to promote intellectual freedom in libraries!