Skip to main content

Resources for New College Graduates

Designed for MLS academic member libraries to share with their new graduates. Members can adapt information to reflect their own institution.

state seal of MAWelcome, Massachusetts Library User!

We invite you to explore the many resources and services available to you through your local public library, as well as other libraries and the statewide library program here in Massachusetts.

 

Find a Massachusetts Library

Use this directory to find your local public library or one of the special libraries listed below. It also includes most school and academic libraries in Massachusetts.

Your Local Public Library

Public libraries? Aren't those just for little kids?

Library for the Commonwealth (Boston Public Library)

Did you know...?

...that the Boston Public Library -- the largest public research library in New England -- is for all citizens of Massachusetts? As the designated "Library for the Commonwealth," the BPL provides resources and research services to meet the informational, cultural, and educational needs of residents across the state. Selected services include:

  • eCard -- Everyone who lives or works in Massachusetts is eligible for a Boston Public Library eCard, which is your ticket to downloadable ebooks and media, research databases, streaming media, and digital magazines. Sign up online! (You can also upgrade to a full Boston Public Library Card at any BPL location in order to borrow physical materials, use library computers, and access museum passes.)
  • Databases -- Boston Public Library offers an extensive collection of electronic resources, including research databases in a wide range of subjects, digital newspapers and magazines, and streaming media. Most of these resources are available to you remotely via your BPL eCard.
  • Research Guides -- Need some help finding resources? The librarians at Boston Public Library have compiled dozens of research guides on topics ranging from Financial Literacy to the Boston Marathon to Online Learning Tips and Resources. If you still have questions, you can contact the librarians directly for more info.

Special Libraries

Consumer Health -- Medical Libraries

This guide from the Lamar Soutter Library at the UMass Medical School includes a wide variety of consumer health resources. Many hospital libraries also provide consumer information.

Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries

Need legal info? The fifteen MA Trial Court Law Libraries offer access to legal resources, including databases and online info, as well as access to a law librarian for assistance.

State Library of Massachusetts

The State Library of Massachusetts provides access to legal and legislative materials, state history resources, and government documents, including the most complete collection of Massachusetts government documents available. While borrowing is restricted to state employees, members of the public may use the physical collection and databases on-site, as well as access an extensive collection of digitized materials online.

Museum and Organization Libraries

Many museums and organizations have libraries or archives with resources about their collections that patrons can use on-site. For example, the Worcester Art Museum Library collection includes art history books, auction catalogs, art periodicals, and artist files, as well as access to online databases such as ARTstor. Likewise, the Appalachian Mountain Club, headquartered in Boston, maintains a Library and Archives with an extensive collection of outdoor recreation books, maps, and images accessible by appointment.