Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Virtual School Librarian: Home

Available to all in the Massachusetts education community including teachers, students, and caregivers.

For All Massachusetts Residents

 

                      

 

Due to Massachusetts school district's currently on summer break, Ask a School Librarian will be monitored weekly. We will be back in the Fall ready to support students and teachers.


Providing support for students and teachers during school closures.

Dear Massachusetts Students & Educators,

The Massachusetts School Library Association (MSLA) and Massachusetts Library System (MLS) are collaborating to ensure all students and teachers have the services of a school librarian to find high-quality information, tools, and strategies to continue developing media literacy and research skills. On this page are digital resources available to each person in Massachusetts either through the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners or through the Boston Public Library with an e-card.

We are also offering a virtual "Ask a School Librarian" service. Simply fill out the form; all questions and comments will receive a response from participating school librarians.

                           

Stay well,

MSLA Executive Board

Corona Virus (Covid-19) Resources from the Massachusetts Library System

Massachusetts Libraries

 

» Massachusetts Libraries [click] offer many educational and enrichment resources online. Anyone within Massachusetts can use these resources by sharing your location. Massachusetts library cards numbers also accepted.

» Databases A-Z [click] Complete list of databases for all ages!

» Academic One (Gale) [click]   A comprehensive resource for serious academic research. Search through peer-reviewed scholarly articles across the academic disciplines, from physical sciences and technology to arts and literature.

Newspapers & Magazines

Full text coverage from 1980 to today's issue.

Full text coverage from 1985 to today's issue.

Feedback

Boston Public Library eCard

 

 

 

 

 

 

eBooks & Audio Books

Streaming Media

Beyond A-Z

Additional subscription database resources beyond the Massachusetts State offerings.  

  • Tumble Math & Tumble Books for K-6 (Available until August)
  • JSTOR
  • Music and Performing Arts
  • Newspaper collections for the 17th-19th centuries
  • CQ Researcher
  • Mango for Kids & All learners. 
  • Special Connections for the duration of library closures to many resources such as those for Legal and Emerging Market studies. 
  • British History
  • And more…