LibGuides: Reference sources and tools online: Resources in MA

The statewide content

Database content is provided by the state (MLS and MBLC). Contracts are revisited every few years. To find out what's available right now, check out the links below.

Mass Libraries
The public facing user portal provided by the MBLC.
State Databases
The MLS resource guide for the databases provided by the state.
Commonwealth eBook Collections
The MLS resource guide for eBook content available across the state.

You NEED to know about BPL resources

In its role as Library for the Commonwealth, the Boston Public Library provides services to all Massachusetts residents and supplements library resources found in communities statewide. Find out all about what BPL can do for you with this companion resource:

Boston Public Library: Library for the Commonwealth
by Michelle Eberle Last Updated Jul 23, 2024 548 views this year

MLS Member Libraries

Perkins & Worcester Braille, Large Print and Talking Book Libraries
Multiple services (audio, braille, large print and news reading) available to the blind, vision impaired, physically impaired (i.e. unable to hold a book) or those with learning disabilities or brain injury. These two libraries have access to one of the nations strongest readers advisory systems and boast home delivery.
Cost of Living Calculator
From MLS member, the American Institute for Economic Research. Who better to consult on economic matters?
Encyclopedia of Life
An international, cooperative effort to document every life form recognized. Obviously, a work in progress. The Marine Biological Laboratory of Woods Hole is a contributor.
more...less...
Global access to knowledge about life on earth.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
A cooperative to digitization project to make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity for open access and responsible use. Check out the fantastic Flickr stream, too!
more...less...
BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL).
Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries
Don't forget there are wonderful librarians at each of the MA law libraries who are there to help you, as well as the general public.
Boston Public Library Flickr Stream
Digitized visual collections of the BPL, including travel posters, anti-slavery posters and treasures from the collection.
Suicide Prevention Resource Center
Online resources curated by SPRC.
National Fire Protection Association
Codes, research, and teaching tools for all things fire related: electrical, industrial, wildfire,supression, detection, control, insurance, safety, and history. Probably some other stuff too. Who knew there was so much to know about fire!

MA resources

Mass Career Information System
Great go-to for career resources and education information.
more...less...
Log-in is required.
MIT Open Courseware
Free lecture notes, exams, and videos from MIT. No registration required.
MA physician profiles
A consumer site from the MA Board of Registration in Medicine. Look up the education, accomplishments, awards and disciplinary action of MA certified doctors, specialists, psychiatrists and dentists.
Driver's Manual - MA RMV
A regularly requested item in public libraries. Here you have access to the updated manual.
In Spanish - Drivers Manual - MA RMV
Download the Mass Driver's Manual in Spanish.
Massachusetts Real Estate Atlas Digitization Project
This digitized collection of Massachusetts real estate atlases includes 167 volumes with over 6,000 maps and other illustrations. They include statewide, county and municipal atlases from throughout the commonwealth, with the majority published in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
more...less...
This project is supported by the Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act as administered by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.