It is time for us to renew our school members eligibility to participate in the Massachusetts Library System (MLS) for the school year 2024-2025. Information will be sent via email on March 29th, 2024. If you do not receive an email with your renewal information contact Amanda Fauver at amanda@masslibsystem.org.
There are 1466 MLS members:
Totals as of July 1st, 2023
Contact our Membership Manager
Amanda Fauver amanda@masslibsystem.org
Your process for joining the Mass. Library System will depend on whether your Library is a brand new or returning member. Our Membership Manager will guide you through this process.
Amanda Fauver
Membership Manager
508-357-2121 ext. 309
amanda@masslibsystem.org
Shirley MacLean
Member Services/Library Directory Updates
508 -357-2121 ext.130
smaclean@masslibsystem.org
Betsy Meaden
Business/HR Director
508-357-2121 ext. 119
betsy@masslibsystem.org
MLS is a state-funded, private nonprofit organization that serves roughly 1,600 libraries of all types in Massachusetts. MLS receives state funding in line 7000-9401 in the Massachusetts state budget. Visit the MLS website to learn more and to access all our services. Learn more about all library services in Massachusetts.
The Consulting and Training team at MLS provides a variety of face-to-face and virtual professional development opportunities as well as consulting on topics such as long-range planning, space planning, collection management and more. MLS consultants also coordinate the Summer Library Program in partnership with the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC).
Massachusetts Library System provides training and support for the statewide databases program in partnership with MBLC. Visit the databases support site to learn more, see upcoming training or access the help desk. MLS also supports statewide eBook efforts. Currently, MLS supports access to OverDrive in partnership with MBLC and the automated resource sharing networks. Learn more about ebooks.
MLS provides a statewide courier service to 500+ libraries in Massachusetts. In addition, MLS provides mediated interlibrary loan services to most public libraries as well as some academic, school and special libraries. MLS also provides digital document delivery service via Boston Public Library. Learn more about:
All MLS member are eligible to purchase library furniture, supplies and services on contract at the Massachusetts Higher Education Consortium. MLS is currently working with MHEC to add electronic resources to the offerings! Learn more about cooperative purchasing.
MLS offers a unique library temporary staffing service to Massachusetts libraries. BiblioTemps handles clerical, paraprofessional and professional temporary staffing and can even handle interim director placements. Learn more about BiblioTemps.
MLS offers a low-cost shared integrated library system to roughly 60 academic, school, special and small public libraries. Learn more about MassCat.