Skip to Main Content
Reference sources and tools online
Search this Guide
Reference sources and tools online: History
When we asked Massachusetts librarians, "What's the free web info resource you find most useful?" they said...
Resources in MA
People and Places
Words & Pictures
Health & Science
A listing of significant documents, related to the history of the north american continent. Results may be images of original documents, or the text of the document.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The digital record of American history and creativity as represented by the Library of Congress's multimedia collection, including the original American Memory collection.
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
American Presidents: Life Portraits
This website, created as a companion to C-SPAN’s 20th Anniversary television series, provides an in-depth look at each of the presidents, their lives, families and administrations.
Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.
The Black Past
An online reference guide to African American History.
Supports the teaching of US History to K-12 and college students.
Documenting the American South
A digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.
Eternal Egypt is a living record of a land rich in art and history, people and places, myths and religions. Explore the people, places, and artifacts that tell the story of ancient Egypt.
The Holocaust -Yad Vashem
A depository of documents, narratives, multimedia and searchable lists of victims' names.
Health & Science >>
Sep 14, 2022 8:36 PM
Login to LibApps