Details on the changes to the FY2026 databases can be found on linked PDF above.
Press Release (5/20/25) from the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) on the FY26 cuts to state-wide databases:
https://mblc.state.ma.us/news/news-releases/2025/nr250520.php
Note that the MBLC administers the contracts for all the state-wide databases, the MLS provides member support.
Funding is provided by both the MBLC and MLS.
More news about the Federal funding situation from the can be found on the MBLC website here:
https://mblc.state.ma.us/federal-funding/index.php
And on the MBLC blog here:
https://mblc.state.ma.us/mblc_blog/
Updates will also be posted to the state-wide list serves: ALLREGIONS and MLS-Announce, found here:
In partnership with the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) and with additional funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), the Massachusetts Library System (MLS) provides access and support to a suite of both general reference and specialized statewide databases. The current suite of resources includes access to products from Gale, Encyclopedia Britannica, ProQuest, Capstone, and Transparent Language.
The statewide databases are available to everyone who lives, works, and studies in Massachusetts. The resources are accessible via geolocation, which means that they can be accessed from anywhere within the state. Access the statewide databases now.
All member libraries of the Massachusetts Library System have custom link access to the suite of statewide databases. Access all of the important information regarding the statewide databases for your library here:
Have a question? Need help? Contact MLS Databases Support:
The Statewide Databases program is brought to you by the Massachusetts Library System in partnership with the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.
 |
 |